Am I responsible to pay for your birth control?

After working diligently for my money and the ability to spend it the way I like, the last thing I want to think about is that some of my taxes are going to fund other people’s contraception.

I don’t care if you’re from the inner city or from the ritziest part of New York, I don’t want to pay for your birth control.  If sex matters that much to you, you should be plenty willing to earn the dollars it takes to pay for your own hobby.  If my priorities ever change and this becomes one of my monthly goals, I’ll give up a few things to put the money into a fund for myself.  I won’t expect birth control to be paid for by my government, and thereby fellow citizens, nor will I want that.  My sex is my business, not the 40 strangers I pass on the street.

Expecting other people to pay for my pastime, is like a drunk passing the hat for his addiction.  Irresponsible, yet in a society of entitled individuals, sadly predictable.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Am I responsible to pay for your birth control?

  1. Well, it’s pretty unavoidable that part of your taxes will go to pay for things you don’t like. It’s a contract everyone accepts for being part of any society. I’m a pacifist. I don’t believe in war. Ever. But I accept that a lot of my tax money goes to fund weapons systems. I don’t have kids. I chose not to because I couldn’t afford it. But I pay so other people’s kids can get lunch at school and textbooks etc. I do think having part of my taxes pay for contraception is a lot more cost effective than having to pay for abortions, and welfare for unwanted children caused when women can’t afford birth control. So on the basis of frugality I’m in favor of it.

Leave a Reply

